Student profile – Elmar Talibli, MSc in Structural Engineering

Elmar, from Azerbaijan, received a full scholarship from the Azeri Government to study at the University of Exeter.

IMG_6901

“Structural Engineering is very important globally, which is one of the reasons it appeals to me – when I finish, I would like to work in the UK for some years, as I feel this would give me excellent knowledge and experience, and ensure me considerable career opportunities when I return to my country.

“My main motivation for studying for the MSc at Exeter was the reputation of the Vibration Engineering team, and of the professors leading the course – Aleksander Pavic, James Brownjohn and Paul Reynolds are well-known in their field. As well as the Vibration Engineering Section, which is their research arm, they run a spin out company, Full Scale Dynamics, which has commercial links, not just in the UK, but all over the world.

“I also checked the rankings and discovered that Exeter is among the top 10 universities in the UK and one of the top 100 in the world. It is a very reputable university – the former Turkish president Abdullah Gül is an alumna.

“Exeter is a very good environment – it’s very green. It is only two and half hours to London by train, which is a small distance. The weather is also very good for the UK – Exeter is located in the South West, so it is warmer than some parts. However, it’s a popular place, with a large number of students – so I would encourage anyone accepted on a course here to find accommodation early!”

Leave a Reply

